Conte Priola Pinot Noir – 2009 Italy

From Total Wine and More:

‘Silky smooth, this Pinot Noir has well defined flavors of red berries and cherries. Medium-bodied with soft tannins, this food friendly wine is easy drinking and pairs well with tuna, swordfish and flavorful vegetarian entrees.’

Price: $7.99

First off, if anyone reading this can tell me what Delle Venezie means I would really appreciate it. I believe it’s the wine region in Northeast Italy where this wine is from but a Google search revealed nothing but other sites trying to sell me Italian wine. And now…back to our regular scheduled program….

I found this to be a very nice wine. It’s color was a nice deep burgundy one. It tasted very oaky and earthy with a strong flavor of berries. It was a very mellow wine that went down easy with a long-lasting, dry finish. I found the finish mellowed out after the wine was left to breathe a little bit but I don’t really know if that was an actual reality or if it was just the result of the alcohol’s influence on my taste buds. I’ll have to try it again to know for sure.

I drank this wine by itself for the pleasure of having a glass of wine so I can’t comment on whether or not the food pairings that Total Wine and More referenced are correct though I would imagine it would be a great wine to accompany a fish or vegetarian meal.

Buzz factor: 6, it’s a nice wine with a bit of a buzz but not overly so. Very pleasant.

Overall likability: I rate this wine at a 9. I really enjoyed it. It was mellow without being weak or watered down. I will definitely be keeping a few bottles of this wine in my wine rack.

About Buhl Creative Enterprises

Owner of Buhl Creative Enterprises

Posted on January 2, 2011, in Italy, Northeast Italy Delle Venezie, Pinot Noir, Red Grape Varieties and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Venice (Italian: Venezia [veˈnɛttsja] ( listen), Venetian: Venesia) is a city in northern Italy known both for tourism and for industry, and is the capital of the region Veneto, with a population of about 272,000 (census estimate 1 January 2004). Together with Padua, the city is included in the Padua-Venice Metropolitan Area (population 1,600,000).

    • Hey there Bruce, Thanks for your input and for clearing up that question I had. I suspected that that might be the answer to my question about Veneto but every time I searched on the internet I got stuff seemingly unrelated to what I was asking and…well, I gave up to be quite honest. Thank you for educating me and my readers. It’s appreciated. I hope you like my blog and check back often.

  2. no wories!

    Veneto is famous for Pinot Grigio, and Conte makes a very light and crisp one. Their Chianti is on the fruiter side and most fry Chianti.

    I am the Wine Manager for Total in the Kennesaw store. Please feel free to visit us on facebook!

  3. Going to have to try this out and write a review on it.

Leave a Reply

