Trapiche Malbec 2009 – Mendoza, Argentina

Description from back of label:

‘A rich, red-colored wine with violet hues, redolent of plums and cherries.. Round in the mouth with a touch of truffle and vanilla. The ideal wine for empanadas, grilled meat, pasta, spicy cuisine and cheese.’

As of late I’ve been hearing a lot about Malbec wines and when my friend, Camille, challenged me to try one I went out and picked the first one I saw and I’ll confess they were ‘buy one, get one free’ variety at my local grocery store. My logic was that being I know nothing about Malbec this was as good a way as any to pick one.

Being they were the ‘buy one, get one’ variety I picked the same wine but different vintages (2009 & 2010). The one I am reviewing today is a Trapiche Malbec 2009 and it comes from the Argentine region of Mendoza.

When I first opened the wine I noticed how strong the bouquet was. It was almost offensive. The first sip was overly strong and harsh but after literally aerating it with my handy new Rabbit Shower Aerator four times it calmed down a bit…but not much.

The color was a deep, rich, dark, almost inky purplish black. After a bit of contemplating on the bouquet of this wine I decided that there was a strong scent of plums as well as an earthy smell. The taste was very peppery, oaky, and plummy (if that’s indeed a word 🙂 )

My overall feeling for this wine is that it’s too harsh for my liking. I generally prefer a wine that’s a bit smoother than this. BUT…to be fair to Malbecs all over the world I have to say that I have virtually no experience with this type of grape variety so I will be trying other Malbecs in the coming months and comparing them to see what’s usual for this type of wine and what’s not.

Also, I will be taking a wine course next month that hopefully will help me to get so much better at describing these wines for all of you. I feel that my descriptions of the wines are vague sometimes but then that’s what learning is all about, isn’t it?  🙂

About Buhl Creative Enterprises

Owner of Buhl Creative Enterprises

Posted on January 16, 2011, in Argentina, Malbec, Mendoza and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

