Nostrada Tempranillo 2009, Tarragona, Spain

From the label: ‘A fruit-driven young red, made exclusively with well-ripened, hand-picked Tempranillo grapes from the ancient winelands of Tarragona. Here, Spain’s most highly-prized native variety offers an easy-drinking red wine, with delicious tempting aromas of rich blackcurrent and ripe red berries, making a beautifully balanced Spanish treat!’

Price: $7.99 – screw top (yes, I’ve been buying screw tops. I am trying not to be such a snob šŸ™‚ )

This wine from the Tarragona Region of Spain was a nice dark burgundy color. When smelling the bouquet the word ‘pretty’ kept coming to mind. I don’t know how to explain it other than that. Yes, it was ‘pretty’.

The taste was heavy and boasting the flavors of dark fruits with a bit of a floral essence in there as well. It had a very light finish.

I picked this wine because I wanted to try a wine made with Tempranillo grapes. I know people who LOVE this grape. I found this wine to be quite pleasant but its ‘prettiness’ took me off guard. I’ve never experienced a wine with this essence before.

Overall I liked the wine. It was different from my usual foray into Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignons. It expanded my horizons on what red wine tastes like and I got to experience another personality of red.

I gave this wine a rating of 89. Very close to being a top pick (which is 90 or above) but I think it’s newness to me kept it from making it into the top category. Definitely a wine to experience if you’re looking to broaden your horizons and see everything that red has to offer.

About Buhl Creative Enterprises

Owner of Buhl Creative Enterprises

Posted on June 12, 2011, in Spain, Tarragona, Tempranillo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

