RECIPE: Dairy Free Vanilla Bean Pudding

I was searching for a nice dessert that would be just sweet enough and not so decadent that I would have to add three hours to my workout routine. After a little looking around the internet and a little tweaking of the original recipe (which wasn’t dairy free) I came up with this lovely, simply little dessert. I originally found the recipe on http://www.myrecipes.com and then proceed to change it. Honestly I don’t think any of the changes I made would even be noticeable to someone seeking a dairy treat at all.

The original recipe was simply called Vanilla Bean Pudding (you can find it here). Here is my revised ingredient list:

2 1/2 cups of Almond milk (soy, coconut or any other milk will most likely work too)

1 vanilla bean, split lengthwise (don’t skimp on this it’s worth it)

1/2 cup sugar

3 Tbsp cornstarch

1/8 tsp salt

1/4 cup soy french vanilla creamer

2 Large egg yolks

4 tsp butter

1/2 Tbsp Cinnamon

I added the almond milk to a medium, heavy saucepan and carefully made sure I scraped every last little seed from the vanilla bean and added them to the almond milk. I then placed the whole vanilla bean pod in the pot with the milk too and brought it to a boil.

After that I followed the directions and added the sugar, cornstarch, cinnamon, and salt in a large bowl and stirred it in well. I combined the vanilla creamer and the egg yolks and stirred well. Once that was done I stirred that egg yolk mixture into the sugar mixture and blended well. I then slowly added half of the hot milk mixture into that sugary, yolky mixture and stirred constantly while I was doing it. You don’t want to cook the yolks whole. Then you pour that mixture back into the remaining hot milk in the saucepan and bring to a boil. It’s really important that you constantly whisk this mixture while it’s coming to a boil.

After about a minute remove it from the heat and add the butter and stir it until it’s well mixed in. Make sure to remove the vanilla bean pod and throw it out.

The recipe calls for you to pour the pudding into a big bowl and sit that bowl in an ice bath until the pudding is cooled down enough to put in the refrigerator. I did that and continued to whisk the pudding while it cooled but I would suspect if you needed it to be quicker you could stick it directly into the refrigerator with not much of a problem. It would probably get a bit of a skin on top. If that doesn’t bother you then go for it. šŸ™‚ Chill the pudding for an hour or two and then serve. I topped each pudding with a few raspberries and served.

Matt and I LOVED this pudding and I suspect it will become a regular dessert recipe in this house. It was very creamy and just sweet enough to make you feel like you were being decadent without feeling like you went overboard. The cinnamon was a great addition and I really feel it took this already great recipe up a notch.

This recipe yields six 1/2 cup servings. Enough for two people to go back and have seconds or thirds…not that we did or anything like that. I am just saying… šŸ˜‰

About Buhl Creative Enterprises

Owner of Buhl Creative Enterprises

Posted on September 26, 2011, in Desserts, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

    • Thank you! I hope you’ll check out my future posts as well. Lot more recipes coming soon! Mondays are recipes and Fridays are wine reviews! I checked out your blog too. I love it and subscribed to your RSS feed. I look forward to seeing more posts from you.

  1. Hooray! Your pudding looks scrumptious. I’ve made a “Tofu Chocolate Pudding” that’s also vegan (see http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Tofu-Chocolate-Pudding/Detail.aspx). Keep going and keep eating.

    • Thanks! It was scrumptious and easy to make too. I think it will be a regular recipe I go to when we want something tasty. I’ll have to check out your Tofu Chocolate Pudding. I’ve never made a pudding with tofu but I am willing to try. šŸ˜‰ I’ve redone my whole blog so I think it will be much better now with more recipes and wine reviews. I hope you like it.

Leave a Reply

