RECIPE: Grand Marnier Souffle With White Chocolate Sauce And Raspberries

Bursting With Anticipation!

This was only my third attempt at making a souffle. My first one was a Cheese Souffle and my second one was a Chocolate dessert Souffle. It seemed only natural for me to continue on and see what other kinds of souffles there were and find one that my trusty other half would like. When I came across the recipe for this Hot Grand Marnier Souffles from MyRecipes.com I knew I had to try it. I wanted to do a vanilla souffle but everything that I read stated that the vanilla alone could not disguise the eggy flavor and most said that the answer to that dilemma was Grand Marnier! Who am I to argue?

If you’ve never done a souffle before don’t buy into the hype when it comes to how hard it is to make. Before embarking on my first Cheese Souffle I read up on it and everywhere it seemed that it was a daunting task but I assure you that there are a few simple things that you have to remember to do and it will come out fine. Don’t be intimidated. Even the worst executed souffle is still going to taste wonderful. You can’t mess up good, simple ingredients. If you keep that in mind you are free to have fun and give it a go.

The golden but still gooey Grand Marnier Souffle...

I did make one mistake when making this souffle and that was the fact that the recipe calls for making 6  8-ounce souffles. Upon realizing that my trusty individual ramekins were only 4 ounces each (note to self: get bigger individual ramekins) I decided that I would make one big souffle in my large ramekin. The only reason that this was a mistake is that when it came to baking time I didn’t adjust for the larger capacity. When I took the souffle out of the oven at 10 minutes as per the recipe it looked wonderfully golden on top but it hadn’t risen all the way and when I cut into it, it was still a bit gooey…oh okay it was still batter.

Rising to the occassion!

It was my better half that suggested I put it back in the oven for a bit more time and that’s when it really began to rise. At one point I was afraid it was going to touch the coils in the oven (it didn’t though). Once we decided that it was ready to come out we took a moment to look at it in awe. The thing that I am CERTAIN I did right this time (that I forgot to do correctly with my Chocolate Souffle) is follow the method necessary to incorporate the whipped egg whites with the rest of the ingredients. Doing that one step correctly is the difference between a souffle that rises to the occasion and one that falls flat. Other than that it will still taste the same in my opinion.

I will warn you that once the souffle is out of the oven you have a very limited time for pomp and circumstance because as it cools down it also deflates and once you put the knife into it to serve it, it will deflate so rapidly it’s really sad. At least I was sad…I mean it just LOOKED sad.

But all sadness aside, I topped the individual pieces of souffle with a White Chocolate Sauce from Epicurious.com and some raspberries. The resulting dessert was flavorful, sweet but not too sweet and the sides of the souffle had just the right crunch due to the sugar coating along the sides of the ramekins. Overall a wonderful dessert but I would probably do individual souffles next time in order to have a reduced cooking time and a slower deflating presentation. 🙂 Go ahead, make a souffle! You’ll love it!

About Buhl Creative Enterprises

Owner of Buhl Creative Enterprises

Posted on October 10, 2011, in Desserts, Food, Recipes, Souffles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Wow! If it looks as good as it tastes, I’m in!

  2. Totally decadent! I gasped when I saw the fluffed-up photo. How nonchalant you are with your indulgence! It’s great and I want to make it myself.

    • Oh Camille if you haven’t made a souffle in your life yet now is the time. There are so many different ones you can make that it’s hard to choose which to do first. Let me know how yours comes out when you do try one…I want full descriptions. 🙂 Thanks for dropping by my blog.

  3. It is gorgeous i love souffle i am going to make one now!! c

Leave a Reply

