RECIPE: Golden Granola

Recently our dear friend, Jurg, not only invited us to visit him in Victoria, British Columbia but he also surprised us with airfare and lodging too. We were thrilled because we like spending time with him and also because we like Victoria, B.C. He said his wife had left him for 3 weeks in order to visit friends back in their other home in Switzerland and he would really like our company so we could all have some fun together.

So when we arrived I told him that I would most certainly like to help with cooking the meals during our two week stay with him. He’s a good cook in his own right but he readily agreed that this would be nice. Later on when we were discussing who would make what meals he confessed that one thing he would really like is some granola. His wife usually makes it but his supply was getting dangerously low and obviously wouldn’t make it until she got back. I agreed that I would love to make the granola.

It’s funny how things work out because I recently was reading another food blog and they made granola and I was thinking to myself that it’s been quite awhile since I’ve made granola of my own and here the universe steps in and says ‘Well go ahead! Make some!’ so here I am making granola as I write this looking out at the sunset over Victoria Harbor and enjoying the beautiful sweet aroma of vanilla and cinnamon that’s wafting in the air in here.

Sunset over Victoria Harbor

I found this great granola recipe on AllRecipes.com called Golden Granola. Now as is my way with most recipes I tweaked it a little but not too much. I added some cashews and raw pumpkin seeds to the mix and I used dried cranberries rather than the raisins or apricots that the recipe called for mostly because I LOVE cranberries and it looked like Jurg and his wife did too (they had a bag of cranberries in the pantry…I am a sleuth like that.)

The recipe is super easy to make. You just add all the dry ingredients together in a big bowl. Then you mix the sugar and the wet ingredients together in a sauce pan until the sugar is completely melted. Then all you have to do is pour that over the dry ingredients, mix it all really well together, spread the mixture on two greased cookie sheets and send them to the pre-heated 275 degree oven for an hour. You’re basically done now with the exception of stirring it all every 15 minutes. The smell in the house is heavenly.

Well, it’s done and I’ve tasted it. It tastes as good as it smells! I am going to have some over yogurt this evening as a dessert and Matt is just going for straight granola with almond milk for dessert. I highly recommend this recipe and also advise you to change the nuts and fruit to your liking. You won’t regret it! Enjoy!

About Buhl Creative Enterprises

Owner of Buhl Creative Enterprises

Posted on October 17, 2011, in Breakfast, Food, Recipes, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Excellent! Here’s the one that I make: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Honey-Almond-Granola-350875

    Once you make your own great granola, there’s no going back to someone else’s. Enjoy Canada!

Leave a Reply

