RECIPE: Brown Rice And Goat Cheese Cakes

Ah..goat cheese! Where do I start? How about…I love you! Yes, I love goat cheese in every way, shape and form you can serve it. It never gets old to me. So it was only natural that when I saw this recipe for Brown Rice & Goat Cheese Cakes at Eatingwell.com I had to try it. The ingredient list is simple and you probably have most of it already in your pantry which is always a plus.

For starters I will say that I didn’t follow the recipe to the T (when do I ever right?). I didn’t have shallots on hand and I didn’t feel like going out and getting some so I used half of a large, sweet Vidala onion instead and it didn’t hurt the outcome one bit. The recipe also calls for toasted pecans. I omitted those all together. I was going to use toasted Almonds instead because I don’t really like pecans, I think almonds are healthier, and well, I didn’t have any pecans in the house (refer back to the fact that I don’t like pecans) but quite frankly I got lazy by the time dinner time came and it just seemed too much of a bother to me. Yes, I was having a lazy day that day.

The recipe also calls for you to use a food processor to make all the ingredients incorporate completely and, again, I was feeling lazy and I really didn’t see the purpose in this step. To me it seemed another thing to do that was going to make the clean up afterwards even bigger than it already was (I am messy chef sometimes) and I just wasn’t up to that. Perhaps if you have children that are phobic of vegetables this step would be necessary in order to disguise the fact that you’re feeding them those evil things but for me, I love veggies and I am comforted to know they are there so I skipped that step for myself.

I cooked these patties up in a skillet with olive oil and served with a nice side of field greens and ranch dressing. It was a nice light meal for a warm Florida evening. The goat cheese gave these patties a nice tang but honestly these lacked something in the flavor department. Maybe it was the the fact that I left out the pecans or almonds but I really don’t feel that those would have given this recipe enough taste either. They were a little too dry for my taste also which is something I know the nuts wouldn’t have helped with.

Overall they weren’t bad but if I do make them again I’ll probably REALLY mess with the recipe in order to make them tastier and moister. I would imagine if you put some bouillon in the water that you cooked the rice in that it might perk this recipe up a bit. Do try these and let me know what you changed in order to make it better. It’s a recipe with definite potential.

About Buhl Creative Enterprises

Owner of Buhl Creative Enterprises

Posted on November 7, 2011, in Food, Main Courses, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love goat cheese… anywhere, any time, this recipe sounds delicious!

  2. hmm, i must look more closely at the recipe, goat cheese is great there are so many that was wonderful, and this is a good idea, i might mess with the recipe too! great idea.. c

  3. are wonderful not was.. mercy one more wine and i won’t be in charge of the oven anymore!

Leave a Reply

