RECIPE: Broccoli And Goat Cheese Souffle

Since making my first cheese souffle at the beginning of this year I’ve been on a quest to try as many souffle recipes as possible. Each time you make one you get better at it plus…well I bought all these souffle dishes of all sorts of sizes so I have to use them right?

If you read my blog regularly then you’re probably also catching on to the fact that I love goat cheese. I’ve declared my love for it in previous posts and so you know that I am not shy about my obsession. So when I found this recipe for a Broccoli & Goat Cheese Souffle at Eatingwell.com I knew it had my name written all over it.

The ingredient list is nothing to be scared of and most of them you’ll probably have in your kitchen anyway. The hardest thing about the recipe is the technique for incorporating the frothy egg whites into the rest of the ingredients but it’s not as hard as it seems and it’s all part of the process of learning how to make souffles. As I’ve said in previous souffle posts, you really can’t mess up a souffle. Even if it doesn’t rise like it’s suppose to it will still taste good so no harm, no foul. ๐Ÿ™‚

I followed this recipe to the T (I know it’s so unlike me to not mess with things right?) except for the fact that I left the dried Rosemary out. I thought I had some but in the middle of making the souffle I discovered I didn’t. Too late to run out and get some I courageously continued on. I really don’t think omitting that ingredient harmed this recipe at all.

If I do say so myself I did incorporate the egg whites perfectly and was very proud of myself. How do you know if you incorporate them correctly? Well, the proof is in what happens in the oven. If your souffle rises like you wouldn’t believe you’ve done your job well and that’s what making a successful souffle is all about.

Now I must warn you, however, that like most souffles this souffle will deflate fast after taking it out of the oven. Unlike previous souffles that I’ve made though THIS souffle probably holds the record for fastest deflating souffle in history. The second I took it out of the oven it was already deflating and by the time I got it on a plate and to the table it looked sad. Really sad! Fortunately to put it out of it’s misery all I had to do is eat it. ๐Ÿ™‚ It was really tasty. The goat cheese and dijon mustard gave it a great tang and the broccoli added some nice color, flavor and the feeling that you were eating something that was really good for you.

I highly recommend this recipe and encourage you to try it. Just remember not to take its quick deflation personal. If it rises well in the oven you’ve done your job well and that’s what counts and remember even a souffle that doesn’t rise well is still delicious so you really can’t go wrong.

About Buhl Creative Enterprises

Owner of Buhl Creative Enterprises

Posted on November 21, 2011, in Food, Main Courses, Recipes, Souffles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. i saw your first souffle and This one is brilliant. . i often make them too as i have loads of eggs! This one look really good, i shall try it! (I have no goat though so i shall have to source some Goats cheese).. c

Leave a Reply

