RECIPE: Senegalese Stew

I found this recipe for Senegalese Stew in the October 2011 issue of Wine Enthusiast magazine. I admit to never having heard of it before but the use of couscous and nut butter in a meal was attractive to me.

As usual I made some changes to the recipe. The first one being converting it from a meat recipe to a vegetarian one. That was really simple, I just replaced the ground beef in the recipe with Gardien’s Beefless Tips. You could uses any other meat substitute as well. I know that the people who make Boca Burgers also have a ground beef-type thing as well. I just chose the Beefless Tips because I had a package of them in my freezer and was itching to try them. This recipe was made for it.

The other thing I changed was the use of peanut butter. I am not a big peanut butter fan. I do, however, LOVE almond butter and I personally believe that it’s a lot healthier than peanut butter for numerous reasons but that’s another story. So I replace the peanut butter with almond butter. Everything else I basically left the same as the recipe.

The resulting meal was really rich, hearty and enjoyable. Your taste buds are inundated with tastes of tomato, almond butter, and hot red pepper but none of the flavors overwhelm or compete with each other. They all just get along nicely. I really enjoyed this meal and so did Matt. It will probably be one that I put in the regular meal rotation in our household.

Try it and let me know what you think. If you improve or change anything tell me what you did so I can try it too. 🙂

About Buhl Creative Enterprises

Owner of Buhl Creative Enterprises

Posted on December 12, 2011, in Food, Main Courses, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. And what wine did you drink with this, darling?

  2. I don’t think we had wine with this meal actually but I would suggest a nice robust red with this meal. It’s a very red meat kind of meal and I would pair it up with any nice red that you would have with a steak or spicy food.

Leave a Reply

