RECIPE: Chicken Barley Soup

I created this whole recipe out of lack of having anything substantial in the fridge, having left over barley and the need to make something wholesome and hearty for Matt and I to eat. It is strictly what happens when I have a little bit of this and a little bit of that in my pantry and fridge and the delight I get from using it all up before going grocery shopping again.

Ingredients:

8 cups of broth (I used my usual Rapunzel bouillon cubes)

4 stalks of celery, diced

4 carrots, sliced

1 Vidalia onion, diced

2 cups of cooked barley

2 veggie chicken patties (I used Gardien Chick’n Scallopini)

1 cup of fresh spinach

2 medium tomatoes, diced

Now basically all I did was bring the broth to a boil and added all the ingredients with the exception of the spinach and the chicken patties and let everything simmer for about 30-40 minutes.

In the meantime I cooked the veggie chicken patties in some olive oil until slightly browned and heated throughout. I then sliced them into small bite sized pieces and added them to the simmering soup.

In the last five minutes or so I added the fresh spinach and simmered until it was wilted but still a really nice green color.

I really enjoyed this soup. The smell was great and filled the house with warmth and happy thoughts and the taste was very enjoyable and satisfying. Give it a try and let me know what you think.

About Buhl Creative Enterprises

Owner of Buhl Creative Enterprises

Posted on February 13, 2012, in Food, Main Courses, Recipes, Soups and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

